Bibliography

These are just some good resources that I have found that might be helpful to a Pastor, Teacher, or Lay Leader.

  1. Systematic Theology

Hoekema, Anthony A.. Saved by grace. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co. ;, 1989. Print.

Hoekema, Anthony A.. The Bible and the future. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 1979. Print.

Hoekema, Anthony A.. Created in God’s Image. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 1986. Print.

Murray, John. Redemption: accomplished and applied. Edinburgh: Banner of Truth Trust, 1979. Print.

Peterson, Robert A.. Election and free will: God’s gracious choice and our responsibility. Phillipsburg, N.J.: P & R Pub., 2007. Print.

Peterson, Robert A.. Our secure salvation: preservation and apostasy. Phillipsburg, N.J.: P & R Pub., 2009. Print.

Peterson, Robert A.. Salvation accomplished by the Son: the work of Christ. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway, 2012. Print.

Robertson, O. Palmer. The Christ of the covenants. Grand Rapids: Baker Book House, 1980. Print.

Williams, Michael D.. Far as the curse is found: the covenant story of redemption. Phillipsburg, NJ: P & R Pub., 2005. Print.

Wolters, Albert M.. Creation regained: biblical basics for a Reformational worldview. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co., 1985. Print.

Wright, Christopher J. H.. The mission of God: unlocking the Bible’s grand narrative. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP Academic, 2006. Print.

Berkhof, Louis. Systematic theology. New ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co., 1996. Print.

  1. Biblical Theology

Bullock, C. Hassell. An introduction to the Old Testament prophetic books. Chicago: Moody Press, 1986. Print.

Bullock, C. Hassell. An introduction to the poetic books of the Old Testament: the wisdom and songs of Israel. Chicago: Moody Press, 1979. Print.

Carson, D. A., Douglas J. Moo, and Leon Morris. An introduction to the New Testament. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 1992. Print.

Howard, David M.. An introduction to the Old Testament Historical Books. Chicago: Moody Press, 1993. Print.

Thielman, Frank. Theology of the New Testament: a canonical and synthetic approach. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 2005. Print.

  1. Pastoral and Practical Theology

Barrs, Jerram. The heart of evangelism. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books, 2001. Print.

Barrs, Jerram. Learning evangelism from Jesus. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books, 2009. Print.

Berkley, James D.. Leadership handbook of management and administration. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Books, 19971994. Print.

Bradley, Anthony B.. Keep your head up: America’s new Black Christian leaders, social consciousness, and the Cosby conversation. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway, 2012. Print.

Collins, C. John. Science & faith: friends or foes?. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books, 2003. Print.

Evans, Tony. Oneness embraced : through the eyes of Tony Evans. Chicago: Moody Publishers, 2011. Print.

Evans, Tony. Kingdom man: every man’s destiny, every woman’s dream. Carol Stream, Ill.: Tyndale House Publishers, 2012. Print.

Loritts, Bryan C.. A cross-shaped Gospel: reconciling Heaven and Earth. Chicago: Moody Publishers, 2011. Print.

Mason, Eric. Manhood restored how the gospel makes men whole. Nashville: B&H Publishing Group, 2013. Print.

Burns, Bob, and Tasha Chapman.Resilient ministry: what pastors told us about surviving and thriving. Dowers Grove, IL: IVP Books, 2013. Print.

  1. Biblical Counseling

Allender, Dan B.. The wounded heart. Colorado Springs, Colo.: NavPress, 1990. Print.

Carder, David, and Duncan Jaenicke. Torn asunder: recovering from extramarital affairs. Chicago: Moody Press, 19951992. Print.

Winter, Richard. Still bored in a culture of entertainment: rediscovering passion and wonder. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2002. Print.

Winter, Richard. Perfecting ourselves to death: the pursuit of excellence and the perils of perfectionism. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2005. Print.

Winter, Richard. When life goes dark: finding hope in the midst of depression. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP Books, 2012. Print.

Simpson, Amy. Troubled minds: mental illness and the church’s mission. Dowers Grove, IL: IVP Books,, 2013. Print.

Benner, David G.. Strategic pastoral counseling: a short-term structured model. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Book House, 1992. Print.

  1. Church History

Gonzalez, Justo L.. The story of Christianity v. 1 – the early church to the present day,. Peabody, MA: Prince Press, 1999. Print.

Gonzalez, Justo L.. The story of Christianity v. 2 – the reformation to the present day. Peabody, MA: Prince Press, 1999. Print.

  1. Homiletics

Eswine, Zack. Preaching to a post-everything world: crafting Biblical sermons that connect with our culture. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Books, 2008. Print.

Chapell, Bryan. Using illustrations to preach with power. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 1992. Print.

Clowney, Edmund P., and Dennis E. Johnson. Heralds of the king: Christ-centered sermons in the tradition of Edmund P. Clowney. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books, 2009. Print.

Stott, John R. W.. Between two worlds: the art of preaching in the twentieth century. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans, 1982. Print.

  1. Missiology

Bekele, Girma. The in-between people: a reading of David Bosch through the lens of mission history and contemporary challenges in Ethiopia. Eugene, Or.: Pickwick Publications, 2011. Print.

Bosch, David Jacobus. Transforming mission: paradigm shifts in theology of mission. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis Books, 1991. Print.

Dempster, Murray W., Byron D. Klaus, and Douglas Petersen. Called & empowered: global mission in Pentecostal perspective. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1991. Print.

Jennings, J. Nelson. God the real superpower: rethinking our role in missions. Phillipsburg, N.J.: P & R Pub., 2007. Print.

Wright, Christopher J. H.. The mission of God’s people: a biblical theology of the church’s mission. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 2010. Print.

Miller, Donald E., and Tetsunao Yamamori. Global Pentecostalism the new face of Christian social engagement. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007. Print.

Stott, John R. W.. Christian mission in the modern world. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1975. Print.

  1. Commentaries

Where to begin….

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s